Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

The Da Vinci Code News

 Many of you are interested in the Da Vinci Code Movie and have asked questions. Leading up to the release of the movie tomorrow, the Bereans will post articles of interest and perspective. Here is one by political pundit Peggy Noonan:

READ THE WHOLE ARTICLE:

"I do not understand the thinking of a studio that would make, for the amusement of a nation 85% to 90% of whose people identify themselves as Christian, a major movie aimed at attacking the central tenets of that faith, and insulting as poor fools its gulled adherents. Why would Tom Hanks lend his prestige to such a film? Why would Ron Howard? They're both already rich and relevant. A desire to seem fresh and in the middle of a big national conversation? But they don't seem young, they seem immature and destructive. And ungracious. They've been given so much by their country and era, such rich rewards and adulation throughout their long careers. This was no way to say thanks.

I don't really understand why we live in an age in which we feel compelled to spoof the beliefs of the followers of the great religions. Why are we doing that? Why does Hollywood consider this progressive as opposed to primitive, like a pre-Columbian tribe attacking the tribe next door for worshiping the wrong spirits? "

May 18, 2006 - Posted by | Da Vinci Code News

6 Comments »

  1. The Da Vinci Code is a movie, based on a novel. A novel is a work of fiction. A historical novel is a work of fiction grounded in a historical event and/or setting. It may or may not have characters and events based on those in history. The Da Vinci Code is an action film. But unlike the Indaina Jones movies that used quasi-Biblical events as the basis for action movies, The Da Vinci Code challenges the powers that be, especailly in the Catholic Church. Powers that be don’t like have their authority (their story told their way) challenged. By doing so, Dan Brown has caused us to think. Thinking scares Christains who believe “comparing spiritual things with spiritual” happens only during Bible study. This is a movie, based on a novel. It will destroy your faith only if you let it. It may even strenghten your faith. Is the Spirit of God not stronger than a movie?

    Comment by Helen Losse | May 18, 2006 | Reply

  2. Excellent point, Helen!

    I posted along this line on my May 9th devotional. Think the words I used were “much ado about nothing”.

    Thanks for your comments!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | May 18, 2006 | Reply

  3. Response to Helen Losse. Christians believe “comparing spiritual things with spiritual”happens only during Bible study? Where would you get such a thing? What do you really know about Christians? other than how can they be so stupid. Have you ever really tried to understand what we believe? or have you just sat back and taken potshots at us. As far as thinking goes Paul tells us in Ephesians 5-15 “So be carefull how you live, not as fools but as those who are wise.” We do not blindly follow this or that, we are to be wise in our beliefs asking questions seeking answers. I highly reccomend you read Lee Stroble’s “The Case for Christ” Try actually reading the new testament. The very foundation of our society is based on the teachings of Jesus Christ. Nothing is ever perfect. No man but one ever was. You would not like it if I made blanket statements about an ethnic group would you? So why would you do the same by saying “Thinking Scares Christians?” The Davinci Code doesn’t challenge the powers that be. It is not saying the Catholic Church has made mistakes, it is saying that all Christians are morons who have been duped for 2000 years. As a Christian I find that offensive. How do you think muslims would react if a book like this was written about their faith? Dan Brown would be dead or in Hiding with Salmon Rushdie. We have to be tolerant of everybody in this country. We have to sensitive not to offend any particular group.. So Why is it open season on Christianity. And why do people get so upset when we are offended? They certainly aren’t whenever another group is. Indeed they can’t wait to show solidarity for them. I’m not sure why I even responded to your comment.. I am tired of people running their mouth about something they don’t understand, and don’t want to take the time out to learn. But really I do understand, because Jesus talked about this before he ever went to the cross, John 15, 21 “The people of the world will hate you because you belong to Me, for they don’t know God who sent me.” He didn’t however just die for Christians, He died for everyone, including you. Take some time and try to learn about it. What have you got to lose?

    Blessings to you

    Larry

    Comment by Larry | May 18, 2006 | Reply

  4. Hi Larry, I accepted the Lord Jesus Christ as my Savior when I was 17. I am heaven-bound because of Calvary, nothing more, nothing less. I fail to see what potshots I have taken. Why should we Christians act like Muslims? Do we not have a higher calling in Christ? And what if we have been “duped for 2000 years”? Have you looked at the history of the church? We have been fighting each other since the book of Acts. I think that grieves the heart of Jesus. How can we give a novel (movie) such power as to imply that we are “morons”? We not only have to be “tolerant of others and sensitive not to offend” but in Christ we have the power to do so. “In Christ, I can do all things.” If you can’t, then your God is too small. Of course, Jesus talked about our being hated before He died on the cross. He said that because it is true. But neither you nor any other Christian is being persucuted by a movie that won’t come out until tomorrow!

    Comment by Helen Losse | May 18, 2006 | Reply

  5. Hi Larry!

    Thanks for stopping by The Bereans! Would love to see you back here more often.

    I think there may have been a bit of misunderstanding concerning Helen’s comments. I haven’t known Helen long, but have discussed enough to know she’s for real and a good person.

    I know that everyone is excited about the Da Vinci movie. I witnessed the same excitement back when “The Last Temptation” was released. The best thing we can do as Christians who love the Lord is to maintain our cool 🙂

    Another thing to think about (for perspective) Paul points out in Hebrews 11:26 Esteeming the reproach of Christ greater riches than the treasures in Egypt: for he had respect unto the recompence of the reward. This means that reproach is greater than the riches in Egypt–that when Christians do face persecution or reproach, that they grow stronger in their faith and commitment.

    Thank you both for your comments! I think we can learn from each other if through grace we listen to one another.

    Regards,

    -Jack

    Comment by bereans | May 18, 2006 | Reply

  6. If I came on a bit too strong I apologize.The Da Vinci code has no bearing on my faith at all.I actually am teaching a class on it at my church. I had read several posts slamming christians before I read what she posted and I am ashamed to say I took it out of context. It goes to show you how things of the world can ignite our passions. I have written Helen an email apologizing this is what I wrote.

    Helen, please forgive me.. Also for the email I just sent you. I went back and read your post again and I realize that I took it completely out of context… I am not a bible thumping fire and brimstone kind of guy. I should have read your post more carefully. If I in anyway hurt your feelings I am sorry. I guess I am sensitive to the fact that the evil one is using this not even well written novel as a way to lead guillable or new christians away from the faith. I teach a class on this at my church, and some of the statistics I have seen on believers who actually take what Brown has written as truth (even though it is complete fiction) is quite alarming.

    Again If I have offended by my post or the last email I sent please forgive me.

    Larry

    Comment by Larry | May 19, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

