Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – May 26

 

(Click!) 

Angry. Part 5 of 5

Do it!

Ephesians 4:31 Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice:

Colossians 3:8 But now ye also put off all these; anger, wrath, malice, blasphemy, filthy communication out of your mouth.

Readers, here is a good opportunity for you to share with each other ways that you have overcome anger, calming techniques that you have discovered that work for you or even share experiences.   

The Berean will be back in action on Monday (Memorial Day).  Have a blessed weekend. 

May 26, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

6 Comments »

  1. Hey, Bereans, you’re invited. Please see my latest post and read all the comments. 🙂

    Comment by Shirley | May 26, 2006 | Reply

  2. I used to get angry quite a bit after my brother died. For those of you who don’t know, he was killed in a car accident 5 years ago when he was 21. I would get upset and angry over everything and basically fly off the handle at the slightest thing. Most of that anger came from being hurt and confused as most people would understand. I have always been in church but not until recently did I really start reading my Bible like I should. I am not angry like I used to be and feel so much more at peace than I used to. I feel like reading my Bible and being involved in church more really helped me. God gives me peace through his word and through other Christians. When I start to get mad, I look at my precious girls and think of the example I want to portray for them. God has blessed me so much and I’m so proud to be His child. I don’t always succeed in keeping my temper in check but much more than I used to. I try to think how God would have me to handle things and it really does help me.

    Hope everyone has a blessed weekend!
    ~Christie~

    Comment by bereans | May 26, 2006 | Reply

  3. Christie,

    I am so sorry about your brother.

    Your blog blesses me in so many ways!

    peace
    ellen

    Comment by Ellen | May 26, 2006 | Reply

  4. Ellen,
    I’m really glad you got something out of my message. It’s been a long road for me but by reading God’s word and getting involved in church I feel like I’m home so to speak. I don’t have all the pent up anger like I used to and it feels really good. Someone once told me that once you start reading your Bible, you’ll never be able to put it down and they were right!

    Thanks for your kind words about the loss of my brother. He was saved and I know he’s in Heaven right now. That’s such a peaceful thought to have…to know the person you lost will be in Heaven.

    Take Care!

    Comment by Christie | May 27, 2006 | Reply

  5. Anger. That is an issue we are dealing with in our house. My son has a problem with it. He tends to get angry if I’m trying to teach him something and he doesn’t immediately understand it. Sometimes my daughter may be trying to help him with something, and he will blow up because he thinks she is trying to “be the parent.” I know the Bible says that ” a soft answer turneth away wrath”, but sometimes I have a hard time keeping my cool when he is losing his, because the things that he gets angry over seem so trivial to me. Anyhow, my husband is putting together a little Bible study on a kid’s level that deals with anger. So, we’re in the process of working on it for now. Hope you have a great Memorial Day weekend.

    Carol

    Comment by Carol | May 27, 2006 | Reply

  6. Hi Carol!

    Thanks for stopping by the Berean. I agree with Christie above that a steady diet of the Word really helps one with self-control. I hope that maybe posts 1-5 on anger may be a bit of a help to your husband.

    Take care and God bless!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | May 30, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

