Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – June 14

 

(Click on picture!) 

Immortal Words

"To err is human, to forgive divine"

"I'll be back"

"Know thyself"

"I have a dream" 

“Luuuke, I am your father…”

How many times have you said something and, much to your distress, you have it repeated to you at a most inopportune time?  The topic of "words" is dealt with often in the scripture–a lot having to do with their immortal nature.  Even centuries after some of the above were quoted they are still remembered, still used.  Words seem to last much longer than our human lifespan. 

There are words that should last as indicated by Christ:

MARK 13:31
Heaven and earth shall pass away: but my words shall not pass away.

But many of us know that there are words that we wish had never been said and we wish WOULD pass away.  Once words escape our lips, there is no retrieving them, and they have the potential of living far longer than we do.  How many times have you been at a funeral and someone who is speaking of the deceased says, "I remember when he/she said…"

Everything we say should be a conscious decision.   Christ himself indicates that what we say is what is truly in our heart:  Matthew 12:34(b)…for out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh.

Keeping this in mind,

 Colossians 4:6 Let your speech [be] alway with grace, seasoned with salt, that ye may know how ye ought to answer every man.

A Berean Classic.

June 14, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

5 Comments »

  1. Good one, Jack!

    Comment by Helen Losse | June 14, 2006 | Reply

  2. I learned some of this from my friend the wordsmith – Helen! 🙂

    If anyone gets a chance drop by Helen’s site–she has a way with words that is enviable!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | June 14, 2006 | Reply

  3. I remember a poem I learned in highschool by Emily Dickinson.

    “A word is dead, when it is said,
    some say.
    I say it just begins to live that day.”

    Our words really do have power to make or break others. How thankful I am though to have the most important words-every divinely inspired Word of God.

    Thank you for this nice post.

    Carol

    Comment by Carol | June 14, 2006 | Reply

  4. “I shot an arrow into the air. It fell to earth, I knew not where.
    I shot a song into the air, it fell to earth, I knew not where.
    Long, long after in an old oak, I found the arrow still unbroke.
    And the song, from beginning to end, I found again in the heart of a friend.

    I learned this little poem when I was in grade school–can’t even remember who wrote it, and I probably don’t have it exactly right, but I will check it out and see. When I read your excellent post on the significance of words, today, this writing came to my mind.

    Blessings.

    shirley

    Comment by Shirley | June 15, 2006 | Reply

  5. Getting on up there in age I find that I am less careful with my words than I used to be…it should truly be the opposite!

    Good to hear from you both, Carol & Shirley! Hope your day is a wonderful one!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | June 15, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

