Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – July 5

 

HOW DOES THIS HAPPEN?

“Sam” writes: This crushed me[after having read a book that disproves the Bible]. This meant that I had wasted many, many years in a religion that was based on a complete fraud. I was so depressed that my wife had to, literally, drag me out of bed and dress me for work. Suicide was a serious risk. This was also very motivating; I looked deeper into the Bible. There was so much that was out of place that I quickly left the Church and its ideologies behind.

“Judy” writes: I deconverted [left the Christian faith] during a period of intense depression brought on by affairs of the heart. Prayer didn’t work for me; a prescribed antidepressant did. Once I realized that nothing I’d attributed to God needed such an explanation, it was easy to leave the faith. I’d already left the fear of hell long before.

“Brian” writes: I was saved at a Billy Graham Crusade. My studies in theology yielded little more than more unanswered questions and a series of contradictory answers based mostly on authority. Science rendered most of my theological questions moot, freed my mind to think effectively and to experience a level of awe, wonder and joy that no god or religion could ever match.

  1. They were never saved to begin with. (1 John 2:19 They went out from us, but they were not of us; for if they had been of us, they would [no doubt] have continued with us: but [they went out], that they might be made manifest that they were not all of us.)
  2. They are saved, but have forgotten. (2 Peter 1:9 But he that lacketh these things is blind, and cannot see afar off, and hath forgotten that he was purged from his old sins.)

Pray for the lost, support those who fall.

July 5, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

6 Comments »

  1. How does this happen? Well, sadly it happens when Christians are over-zealous in their claims, when they cling to doctrine (dogma, belief, explanation, proof-texting) rather than to the Living Jesus. Christians who have a explanation for every earthly happening are bad for converts (“babes in Christ”) for several reasons. First, the make this kind of “knowledge” seem possible with unending Bible study, when in fact some things are without explanation no matter how much one studies. Who can explain the untimely death of a child without romanticizing death? Who can deny God’s mystery? Next, they leave little room for discovery. When everything is spelled out, study becomes either rote memorization or a giving in to the opinions of leaders. After all, what can the convert know? We do not grow with our ideas squelched, “out of the mouths of babes.” And then, we try to set up a battle between religion and science. I won’t even go there. And we tell people with problems to “get over it.” We get so busy thinking our way of being Christian is the only way that we forget the truth: It is not. Finally, sadly, instead of praying for those who fall, we abandon them, so it is easy to see how this can happen.

    Comment by Helen Losse | July 5, 2006 | Reply

  2. Hi Helen!

    I agree.

    (I was posting more from their perspective and root causes rather than the myriad of problems in existence within Christianity.)

    You’ve inpired tomorrow’s post though!

    -J

    Comment by bereans | July 5, 2006 | Reply

  3. Right on point again Helen. It’s funny this post, I have had several personal epiphanies I will be posting on the next week or so. Questions of faith answered. I anyone put the Case for Faith by Lee Strobel on their reading list.

    Wow

    Larry

    Comment by Larry | July 6, 2006 | Reply

  4. Hi Larry!

    I’ll try to add that to my Amazon wish list.

    I have two personal experiences concerning individuals who have “fallen away”…one was a friend of mine who went to seminary. He told me his story. Apparently, they spent so much time trying to undermine the credibility of the scripture (Yep, in a seminary!) and remove any notion of foundational truths that he ended up having a nervous breakdown. He ended up for a short time in a mental institution, and is now working for Microsoft. He considers himself an agnostic now. I have no doubt that Steve fits in the 2 Peter category–saved, but having forgotten that he was purged from his sins and redeemed.

    The greatest tool of Satan is to twist the absolute of God’s truth: Genesis 3:4 And the serpent said unto the woman, Ye shall not surely die: 5 For God doth know that in the day ye eat thereof, then your eyes shall be opened, and ye shall be as gods, knowing good and evil. Remove the foundation, and the building will crumble and be swept away.

    Looking forward to your posts!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | July 6, 2006 | Reply

  5. Jack, I am sorry about your friend, but from what I understand, graduate school (of any kind) is supposed to be a time of soul searching, and that process is usually stressful. Those who survive come out strong (pastors, missionaries, from seminary) and those who don’t find other jobs. What kind of a pastor whould he have been, if seminary itself could shake his faith, and he not trust God to build it back up? Is faith that cannot stand the test (of being questioned) strong enough to lead? Of course, this kind of test is not for everyone. But then lots of us don’t go to seminary.

    Comment by Helen Losse | July 6, 2006 | Reply

  6. I agree, Helen. I have always believed faith’s authorship divine. Steve, however, is just one of the many casualties along the way. Sad.

    -Jack

    Comment by bereans | July 6, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

