Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – July 14

 

I Corinthians 13:4 Charity suffereth long, [and] is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up,
 

A puffed up person is one who is inflated with a sense of personal pride. Pride is unreasonable self-worth, generally accompanied by insolence and rude treatment of others. It deceives the heart (Jer. 49:16), hardens the mind (Dan. 5:20), and results in destruction (Prov. 16:18). 

And then there are those who are proud they are so humble…

July 14, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

5 Comments »

  1. Hi Jack, I think you hit the nail when you said “unreasonable self-worth.” This is way beyond believing my life matters; it’s like implying you can’t make it without me.

    I hope you will consider continuing to the next verse. These have been very helpful, each day’s message building on the former.

    Comment by Helen Losse | July 14, 2006 | Reply

  2. Hi Helen!

    4 verses to go! 🙂 It may take a while.

    You know, one thing I always like about the Bible is that it doesn’t matter how many times I read a certain passage or verse, each time the Lord gives new insight into what is being said. One of the reasons I love the Word so much is that it doesn’t matter how deep I dig, I never reach the bottom.

    Such is the case right now with I Cor 13.

    -j

    Comment by bereans | July 14, 2006 | Reply

  3. We’re in no hurry. If we die, studying this chapter, so what? Can’t wait to see what you do with the gender switch from neutral to feminine in verse 5. 🙂 That ought to be Tuesday,the same day our counter top will be installed. 🙂
    🙂

    Comment by Helen Losse | July 14, 2006 | Reply

  4. J,

    Your comment about the Bible is so true. It is God’s inexhaustible Word. As I read your post, I thought of something one of my instructors said in Bible college. In essence, it was something like this……humility is a very elusive quality, when you think you’ve come to the place where you finally have it, you don’t have it.

    Carol

    Comment by writeathome | July 14, 2006 | Reply

  5. Ha! We may have to skip a few to get there so we can get the discussion going, Helen!

    Carol, I agree wholeheartedly with your professor!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | July 14, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

