Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – August 23

A Berean Classic. 

Ever wonder who you are?

I remember in the late 70’s (although it started before then) when there were a host of people “looking for themselves”. Everywhere you turned there was someone who didn’t know who they were, and they were in search of themselves.

For some reason, all of them seemed to end up in Boulder, Colorado…

The birth of modern psychology and its advancement by Freud, and others, the promotion of ideas such as existentialism and the investigation into eastern philosophy and religion, lead many a person on an inward journey in search of themselves.  

But after all these years, have you ever heard, “Hey, everybody!  I found myself!  I was on the south side of Cleveland!”?  

No, its still going on in the year 2006, and many of these people spend a lifetime searching but never finding out who they “really are”.

The truth of the matter is that we are not beings waiting to be discovered, but lives in the process of creation.

We aren’t waiting to be discovered, we are constantly and consistently being built.  

Philippians 1:6 says, “Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform [it] until the day of Jesus Christ:

and

Hebrews 13:21 says, “Make you perfect in every good work to do his will, working in you that which is wellpleasing in his sight, through Jesus Christ; to whom [be] glory for ever and ever. Amen.”

Still looking for yourself?  Maybe its time to look in the right place.

August 23, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

14 Comments »

  1. I think part of the problem (in America) stems from the fact that we define people by thier jobs. “What do you do?” is one of the first questions we ask when we meet someone. Any thinking person who doesn’t have a well repsected (defined) job (pastor, teacher, doctor, programmer)looks but doesn’t find another defintion of self. And the church doesn’t really help. Saying “I’m a child of the King,” is true but sounds arrogant and prevents real witnessing. Combine that with what Gen X and beyond faces in today’s job market and what the feminist movement has done to the word “homemaker” (It’s done good things but this is not one of them.), and no wonder people are looking for themselves. You can’t say, “I Like bowling,” or “I like to cross stitch.” We’ve created a monster in which doing is more important than being. You can’t build (up) on poor self esteem and a dour outlook.

    Comment by Helen Losse | August 23, 2006 | Reply

  2. Helen,

    We definitely are defined by others by what we do or say–others have little to go on beyond that. And of course love, as we found out earlier, is largely used as a verb (as applicable to our lives) in the Bible, more than a noun and so our faith is demonstrated to others in that way.

    But…I think that most of this search stems from the “self-esteem” movement that started about the same time. People had a desire for someone to love them, and so they were told that if they loved themselves enough that others would love them too. This largely backfires on most, as we naturally love ourselves (Ephesians 5:29) and its not what we do for ourselves that helps us grow, but what we do for others (Acts 20:35) that earns us the love and respect of others. Also, the ultimate esteem should come from above–God saw value in us and therefore we are priceless. That is the reason I LOVE the story of the Velveteen Rabbit-(refer to post: https://bereans.wordpress.com/?s=velveteen)-how it points out that our worth is not intrinsic, but rather extrinsic–originating with God himself. I guess that people who are out searching for themselves are just people who are looking for love in all the wrong places.

    Years ago, I experienced a deep depression which was mainly the result of too much introspection. I had looked inside to what I really am, and if anyone does this and is 100% honest, they will see little there of real value. It wasn’t until later that I came to the realization through reading His word that He knew me 100% as much as I did and He still loves me! Loved me so much He sacrificed his own life on my behalf. Now THATS value!

    Enough rambling,

    -j

    Comment by bereans | August 23, 2006 | Reply

  3. Finding ourselves starts with Jesus.

    Act 17:28 For in him we live, and move, and have our being; as certain also of your own poets have said, For we are also his offspring.

    Comment by Carol | August 23, 2006 | Reply

  4. Beautiful, Helen!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | August 23, 2006 | Reply

  5. Psalms 118:8

    Comment by Brian Reason | August 23, 2006 | Reply

  6. Introspection can lead to empathy.

    Comment by Brian Reason | August 23, 2006 | Reply

  7. And empathy can help us know how and when to witness.

    Comment by Helen Losse | August 23, 2006 | Reply

  8. Ah Boulder, Colorado. I went to the University of Colorado-Boulder my first two years of college from 1999-01. I remember my senior year of high school, I became so stressed out from school, trying to get my grades up, applying, etc. I visited family out there during my winter break because I hadnt been out there in so long. I found myself loving every minute of it, felt so at peace with myself, and the second I got home, I went back to being depressed. Boulder provided me this mental escape, so long story short, I ended up back there. I really did enjoy my time there and definitely do not regret making that move.

    The reason I discovered it in the first place is because my aunt was one of those people who went to “discover” herself. She moved there, has had 4 kids and 3 grandchildren since. She comes back and visits a couple of times a year but has never had the desire to return East.

    I completely agree with the statement that “We are lives in the process of creation,” and so much plays a role in that: ourselves and especially the people around us. We learn so much from our experiences and are constantly changing as we go along. Boulder was part of that for me. When I went out there, I knew no one besides the few family members I had- the University is like its own city out there. It was depressing because I found myself incredibly homesick. But I stuck it out and ended up coming back East- I always have thought exactly what the post details: I never really found myself, I didnt really lose myself, but I realized from my experience that I am on a long journey and learning more and more everyday- some days more than others of course.

    Comment by chickenhawk | August 24, 2006 | Reply

  9. CH, I have often been amazed at your maturity and wealth of experience for your age. I look forward to seeing what will be “created in you”!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | August 25, 2006 | Reply

  10. coach handbags

    Comment by coach | December 8, 2006 | Reply

  11. One of the best locations I’ve come across lately!!! Definately a permanent bookmark! Please visit my homepage too:

    Comment by Helen | March 30, 2007 | Reply

  12. Nice page greetings to all in this guestbook! Please visit my homepage:

    Comment by Thomas | March 30, 2007 | Reply

  13. Amazing artwork! This is spectacularly done! Visit my sites, please:

    Comment by Lillian | March 31, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

