Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – August 31

 

WE FALL DOWN

Stumbling is a part of our Christian walk.  No failure is final, and when we stumble we use it as a means to grow:

  • Moses made excuses when God called him to lead Israel out of bondage.
  • David committed adultery with Bathsheeba and had her husband killed.
  • Peter denied Jesus three times.
  • Paul persecuted Christians before his conversion.
  • Thomas doubted Jesus’ resurrection.
  • All the apostles forsook Jesus when He was arrested and crucified.

Stumbling is a part of our Christian walk, but getting back up and going on is too.

Isaiah 40:29 & 31 He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might he increaseth strength. But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew [their] strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; [and] they shall walk, and not faint.

August 31, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

5 Comments »

  1. Very busy couple of days here. Will comment tomorrow, if possible.

    Comment by Helen Losse | September 1, 2006 | Reply

  2. Thank you, Helen! The Bereans know you’re there–You’re a MVP!!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | September 1, 2006 | Reply

  3. Its all about being inspired and not kicking yourself when we’re down. Everyone faces challenges and may succumb to depression or a defeatist attitude at times. Recently Ive doubted myself, I doubted that I was going anywhere in life. But through family, friends, Christ, I realize there is so much to live for and to be inspired by and I just have to keep telling myself that and take one day at a time. Its a challenge but I know it is something I will indeed overcome.
    Some days have been good, some bad but Ive just tried to stay focused, motivated and active. Its just all part of a new direction Ive taken for myself- Jack we have discussed this- and man, it has been difficult. Just when I felt like I was getting through it, depression sank in a bit this week- I think I got a little lazy, out of my routine and complacent- but I fight it and wont let it win. My family, friends and just reading the Bible have been an incredible source of inspiration and I know Im not alone and there are others out there in far worse states than myself.

    2 Corinthians 5:17 (17Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!) and Matthew 7:7-8 (7″Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 8For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened. ) are two passages I recently read- that were introduced to me by a friend- that have significant meaning for me.

    Comment by chickenhawk | September 2, 2006 | Reply

  4. Chickenhawk, Those are both imporatnat passages of scripture. It does get easier (when you are down), not that the propensity to sin is ever less but that we gain practice turning from sin to God or confessing sin which has occurred more quickly.

    Comment by Helen Losse | September 3, 2006 | Reply

  5. Yes, stumbling can and does happen in the Christian life, but I don’t believe it should be a continual pattern in our life. It wasn’t continual in the examples you gave of people in the Scripture. However, the best thing to do when we do fall short, is to repent and go on and not allow the devil to keep us in a state of condemnation. I believe the best thing to do is practice and cling to I John 1:9.
    “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

    Hope you are having a good Labor Day weekend.

    Sincerely,
    Carol

    Comment by writeathome | September 5, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

