Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – September 5

 

INSTRUCTION 

PROVERBS 15:10 Correction [is] grievous unto him that forsaketh the way: [and] he that hateth reproof shall die.

How do you react to correction from others? 

Do you:

  • react defensively? 
  • lash out in anger? 
  • turn a deaf ear?
  • react in pride?
  • ignore it?
  • justify your actions?
  • point out worse violations?

No matter how mature a Christian we fancy ourselves we are still subject to the frailties and failures of our earthly body and mind.  There never comes a time on this earth when we “arrive” and cannot receive the benefits of good advice or good instruction from those wiser than ourselves. 

Proverbs 8:33 Hear instruction, and be wise, and refuse it not.

September 5, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

4 Comments »

  1. Amen.

    Comment by helenl | September 5, 2006 | Reply

  2. If God is truly our Father and we are his sons and daughters, then He has the right to correct us when we’re wrong, just as an earthly father corrects his children. God can speak to our hearts when we’re wrong, but often He uses people who He has placed in our lives as His mouthpiece. I like what Hebrews 12:5 says in the Amplified version.

    “And have you [completely] forgotten the divine word of appeal and encouragement in which you are reasoned with and addressed as sons? My son, do not think lightly or scorn to submit to the correction and discipline of the Lord, nor lose courage and give up and faint when you are reproved or corrected by Him;”

    I may not comment on your blog often, but I do enjoy reading your daily devotionals.

    Blessings,

    Carol

    Comment by writeathome | September 6, 2006 | Reply

  3. Hi Helen and Carol!

    Helen, I wrote this one for ME! 🙂

    Carol, always great to hear from you–your wisdom is often appreciated!

    j

    Comment by bereans | September 6, 2006 | Reply

  4. It all depends I guess. But generally, I have a passion for listening to people, hearing them out, especially when they are providing me advice or sharing wisdom with me. If I am corrected, I dont get offended, I take it for what it is- a way to improve myself and get things right a second time around. If I get upset with being corrected, it generally isnt because I hate being corrected, it is because I wish I had not erred and was correct in the first place.
    Sure I have had my moments where I didnt take well to being corrected and could get defensive- depending on my mood or the situation, but generally I know when I am receiving advice and being instructed, its for my own good. Even if I dont agree with what I am being told, the common courtesy of listening to people is so important, especially if you expect people to do the same for you. I strongly feel that, to formulate your perspectives, you have to know how the other side thinks or feels.

    Comment by chickenhawk | September 7, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

