Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Let’s Have Fun!

 

There is a new study out there that indicates that men are more intelligent than women.

Well, we men knew this ALLL along…

Do you think the following scriptural issues may be evidence of intellectual disparity between sexes?

1. Ephesians 5 speaks of a definite structure in the family, placing the husband as head over the wife.

2. The illustrations of God using men in the scripture overwhelmingly outnumber the examples of women.

3. When God incarnate came to earth he chose men as disciples (primarily) and men as the vessels to create and build his church.

P.S.  This is NOT the daily devotional.  See post below->

September 15, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

6 Comments »

  1. Since there is no scientific (or even logical) definition of “intelligent” it’s hard to see what they mean by this study. When the IQ test was first invented, it turned out that women were smarter than men. So they just added math questions until they got the results they wanted. The bttom line is that men and wmen are smarter in different ways. Saying “men are more intelligent than women” is like saying “oranges taste better than apples.”

    On the other hand, I remember grade school. It was common knowledge until about third grade that the girls we’re smarter. I’ve never seen anything since to change my mind. 🙂

    JMO
    Doug

    Comment by unitedcats | September 16, 2006 | Reply

  2. Hi UC!

    Good to hear from you. Well, actually I was trying to get a rise out of my small readership just to get the discussion going, but it looks like everyone is a little quiet. Oh well…

    I agree with what you say!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | September 18, 2006 | Reply

  3. I wouldnt necessarily argue men are more intelligent than women. I would certainly be willing to argue that they tend to be more rational. Reason being, they are generally less emotional, therefore their arguments, especially in relationships, tend to be more reasonable whereas women get all upset over the most trivial nonsense. Men, ever have a girlfriend and get into a really stupid argument. I have gotten into an argument with an old girlfriend bc we hung up from a phone conversation and I did not say that I love her. A hissy fit was thrown.

    Or the “do you care if I go out with my friends Friday night?” argument (note: this is not confined to just going out on a weekend night with the guys scenario):
    Do you mind if I go out with my friends Friday night?
    > No thats ok
    Ok are you sure, you seem to be not cool with that?
    No its ok
    Ok then, we’ll hang out Saturday night together definitely.
    >

    I am putting on my seatbelt and helmet now, in anticipation of backlash. Guys have my back please.

    Comment by chickenhawk | September 18, 2006 | Reply

  4. my last line of the friday night convo was omitted somehow; I added that attitude was copped hissy fit thrown. Now I am putting on my helmet.

    Comment by chickenhawk | September 18, 2006 | Reply

  5. I come from the J-Mercer school of getting a rise out of people. I was born with it though. Jack, we related?

    Comment by chickenhawk | September 18, 2006 | Reply

  6. Ha! CH, you kill me!

    For some reason there is a strange silence from some of our female readers…

    …expected MUCH more than this! 🙂

    -j

    Comment by bereans | September 19, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

