Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – September 18

WHAT PART OF “I AM THE WAY” DON’T YOU UNDERSTAND? (Part 4 of “Religion – Satan’s Greatest Deception)

The Gospel according to man (with a little help from the father-of-lies) is that salvation can be obtained and maintained by (mix or match any of the following):

  • Jesus Christ + good works
  • Jesus Christ + abstinance from bad works
  • Jesus Christ + suffering
  • Jesus Christ + keeping the law
  • Jesus Christ + baptism
  • Jesus Christ + confession
  • Jesus Christ + church membership or religious affiliation

According to God, eternally secure salvation can be had by simple faith and belief in Jesus Christ:

Romans 10:9 That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

or in other words:

  • Jesus Christ + nothing

(The preceeding devotional is a series of devotionals and intended to be read together for full understanding)

September 18, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

3 Comments »

  1. “Jesus Christ + nothing” makes a lot of people mad, doesn’t it? But it is the good news!

    Comment by helenl | September 18, 2006 | Reply

  2. So true. I imagine there are so many hardcore religious folk that it takes this very strict, disciplined lifestyle of rules and regulations to be a spiritual person, and to be able to have any sort of welcome to Heaven.
    But as Jack has told me, it is truly a gift from God, the notion that we can be saved by believing. Of course God doesnt want us to sin, and I feel bad and guilty when I say or do the wrong thing. But I know that I am a human being, as far from perfect as could be- more than most others haha. But I know that when I err, if given a second chance I would correct it and doing the right thing. Thats learning, thats life, thats redemption. And we can be forgiven of course.
    I try to make sacrifices for the good, I know how much better it is to give than receive- although I can even feel selfish about that sometimes as I do it to feel better about myself- but at the same time, if it helps out a neigbor and helps them approve, thats what life is about to me.
    If I see a homeless person or a person begging for change, part of me always asks if that person really needs it, what are they going to use that money for- drugs, alcohol, or a bite to eat? Will my contribution go to something that will only further damage that person? But I always figure that if they are sitting there begging for change, they are not in a good situation regardless and I always give what/when I can and try not to question. What they do is their free will. I just pray for those people, and even in my agnostic days, would wish them God’s blessing.
    I make mistakes and I will continue to, but I know that if I believe and do my best to be a good neighbor, things will work out and I will have God’s favor- which ultimately transcends myself and extends to those around me anyway.

    Comment by chickenhawk | September 18, 2006 | Reply

  3. Helen,

    It just goes against people’s thought–no one expects “free lunch”, but as God’s children that is exactly what we get from Him!

    CH,

    Grace is something that most people go through their lives hardly understanding. We have been taught as children that we have “earn” our way or do good for reward, when all salvation is is the acceptance of God as your father through the sacrifice of his son. At that point we are the adopted sons of his and he loves us as his own children. I love my children like I love no one else in this world–my children could do ANYTHING, and they would never be anything other than my children who I love.

    This is grace, my love, freely given even if I am spit upon for it. The same goes for the Father who loves us as his children.

    -j

    Comment by bereans | September 19, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

