Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – October 5

LOVE

When I was growing up, sometimes we would move to an area where I was put into a new school. This happened often, and sometimes I would be targeted by the bully or have a hard time integrating myself with the other children. At those times I just wanted to quit, run away or cry. After school when I would come home my father was always there to greet me–always accepting me 100% unconditionally, loving me no matter what my circumstances were.

Always knowing that he was there was something that gave me strength and encouragement–knowing that no matter if no one else liked me, or no matter how bad things may become, or even when I screwed up in an amazingly bad way, that there was still someone there who truly loved me. We have that as Christians–we know that no matter what there is someone who loves us. I often wonder how many people get through life or how much despair many face not having that peace…

1John 4:10 Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son [to be] the propitiation for our sins.

A part of an email conversation with my friend ChickenHawk

October 5, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

3 Comments »

  1. Amen.

    Jack, We are leaving to go to Knoxville tomorrow morning for Jennings memorial service and will be there a few days, not sure when we are coming home. [Note to robbers: Our house will be occupied while we are gone.] Have a great weekend. And until I catch up with you again, much love.

    Comment by helenl | October 5, 2006 | Reply

  2. Helen,

    We will be in prayer for you and the whole Cline family. God bless you–we love you too!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | October 5, 2006 | Reply

  3. Thanks Jack- the perspective you provide is so important and helpful. I discuss these matters with family and friends constantly, and there are so many other people with so much to offer. Everyone always has something to offer from their experiences and its been vital to my spiritual and emotional well-being hearing their stories. Things get put into perspective and I do realize that I have a great situation with the people I am surrounded by. God bless.

    Comment by chickenhawk | October 8, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

