Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – October 31

Being an avid ‘blogger I frequent many–have even developed relationships with some wonderful people such as Helen, Carol, CH, Smorg, Dave, Rattrap, and many others. My blog travels take me around the nation and around the world–but the thing I find most common to most of them (exception those individuals referenced above) is an underlying seething cauldron of anger, resentment, worry, impotence, and hopelessness.

“Peace” is commonly mentioned, but rarely are these people looking for it in the right place.

I dedicate this re-posting of a past post to those individuals lost in this sea of despair.


MY PEACE

  • Run through by spears and swords
  • Dragged by horses
  • Hanged
  • Boiled alive
  • Crucified
  • Thrown from the heights
  • Flayed to death
  • Shot
  • Stoned
  • Tortured and beheaded

The fate suffered by the disciples of Jesus Christ, and yet…

JOHN 14:27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

We should never forget:

2Corinthians 12:9 (a) And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee…

Look for peace in the only place it can be found.

[odeo=http://odeo.com/audio/2207885/view]

October 31, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

5 Comments »

  1. May we seek peace in the arms of Jesus and come away full, for His “grace is sufficient” to quell all “anger, resentment, worry, impotence and hopelessness” in this our dying world and leave us with our cups overflowing.

    Thank you, Jesus.

    Comment by helenl | October 31, 2006 | Reply

  2. So true, Helen. Christ has so much to offer people…

    Isaiah 26:3 Thou wilt keep [him] in perfect peace, [whose] mind [is] stayed [on thee]: because he trusteth in thee.

    Hope you are having a lovely week, Helen.

    God bless you!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | October 31, 2006 | Reply

  3. Only Gods grace can fill your heart with peace.
    To find peace, you must first experience grace in Christ Jesus.

    Comment by Les | October 31, 2006 | Reply

  4. And may God bless you also, Jack.

    Happiness is a choice; I am planning to have a good week.

    Comment by helenl | October 31, 2006 | Reply

  5. Rom 14:17 For the kingdom of God is not meat and drink; but righteousness, and peace, and joy in the Holy Ghost.

    I’ve found that peace, and I pray many others will find it too. I am truly touched that you mentioned my name in this post.

    Blessings,

    Carol

    Comment by writeathome | November 1, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

