Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – November 21

ABOMINATION (Part 7 of 8 )

Proverbs 6:16-19 (a) These six things doth the LORD hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him: A proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, an heart that deviseth wicked imaginations, feet that be swift in running to mischief, a false witness that speaketh lies

Read ABOMINATION Part 2 of 8 below- if you have time.

Why do you suppose the issue of lying is essentially mentioned twice?

Today’s assignment: Write the Berean Devotional for “ABOMINATION (Part 7 of 8 ) – A false witness that speaketh lies” comparing and contrasting this to “a lying tongue” and we will post!

November 21, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

4 Comments »

  1. Hi Jack, This is the third time I’ve started this comment. Maybe this time I’ll make it. I missed you last week. But, in all honesty, this is not the time of year that I’m temped to take an “assignment” very seriously. Don’t get me wrong,lying of any kind is serious business. Can lead to impeachment and the like. But there’s a turkey thawing in the fridge. And ’tis the the beginning of the season of anticipation, when we await the birth of our Savior. I am slowing myself down. I plan to enjoy the coming holidays to the fullest. (And this probably means a bit less blogging. Certainly on the political sites.) Have a great Thanksgiving.

    Comment by helenl | November 21, 2006 | Reply

  2. Hi Jack, This is the third time I’ve started this comment. Maybe this time I’ll make it. I missed you last week. But, in all honesty, this is not the time of year that I’m tempted to take an “assignment” very seriously. Don’t get me wrong,lying of any kind is serious business. Can lead to impeachment and the like. But there’s a turkey thawing in the fridge. And ’tis the the beginning of the season of anticipation, when we await the birth of our Savior. I am slowing myself down. I plan to enjoy the coming holidays to the fullest. (And this probably means a bit less blogging. Certainly on the political sites.) Have a great Thanksgiving.

    Comment by helenl | November 21, 2006 | Reply

  3. Hi Helen!

    I understand that! Things start getting crazy about now, don’t they.

    Quick question. How do you do your turkey? I plan to brine–it makes for an outstanding bird. 🙂

    -j

    Comment by bereans | November 22, 2006 | Reply

  4. I have a Butterball. I put in the oven for as along as the instructions say (about 3 1/2 hours) sprayed once with cooking spray. No stuffing in the bird. The last few years they have come out great.

    I have pumpkin bread in the oven now. Yum. And when it’s done, I’m baking an apple pie. Tomorrow I’ll make sausage balls and cook the turkey (stove top stuffing, mashed potatoes, green beans and open a can of cranberry sauce.)There are just four of us (five, if Victor’s friend, home from the Marines, joins us), so we don’t need too much.

    I am doing this slowly enough to enjot it.

    Comment by helenl | November 22, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

