Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – November 29

PARTIAL ARMOUR (Part 1 of 8 )

EPHESIANS 6:11 Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil

On the battlefield, knights of old were threatened by death from many directions.  A stray arrow, thrown spear or sword thrust finding exposed vitals could be death to one who rode into battle with incomplete armour.   Paul’s epistle to the Ephesians admonishes that they put on the WHOLE armour of God, not just pieces, because one’s pitched battle could come to an abrupt end if complete protection was lacking.

Ephesians 6:14-17 Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; and your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:

Let’s look into why the WHOLE armour is required and why just a piece here and there isn’t enough.

November 29, 2006 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

3 Comments »

  1. I think its because evil does exist all around us; temptation to do wrong or immoral things. We have to keep our guard up and stay strong. And the armour we need is beyond the physical if you ask me.

    Now, I sin like the rest of them, perhaps moreso, because I can be rather vulgar at times and I joke about anything and everything sometimes, even at my own expense. Part of that though is trying not to be a negative person, and dwelling on the bad. But I have made it a point in my life to pray whenever possible, several times a day, no matter where I may be- waking up in bed, sitting in my cubicle, on the train ride to work, just to show thanks for everything that Ive been blessed with. Certain things have transpired in my life the past few months I cannot help but think He has done so much to look out for me, welcome me back into a relationship, and guide me on the right path in life- and Ive instilled my faith in Him and prayed with all my heart and soul- not for specific things, but for him to bless me, my family, my friends, our world itself, with His good favor, to help me “keep my guard up” and avoid things that have affected me in adverse ways in the past. It helps a great deal. Glad you posted this, I can really relate to it. We definitely have to be on guard in this world.

    Comment by chickenhawk | November 29, 2006 | Reply

  2. I need to practice wearing it everyday Jack. Thanks for the verse you sent when I was down. It is funny my wife chose that verse the day before to frame in our kitchen.

    Larry

    Comment by Larry | November 29, 2006 | Reply

  3. Hi CH!

    The wonderful thing about Christians is that when God looks at us he sees the purity of his son within us–which means that as far as God is concerned we are without sin–they are forgiven, past present and future, buried completely. As far as our physical walk, though, we are subject to the same vanities and problems the rest of the world is. As long as we have this fleshly body, we will be subject to its weaknesses, desires, etc. As we grow spiritually, though, the more the spirit controls our actions–the less subject to the “brute beast” we become–the less controlled by circumstance and situation we become, and the more in tune with God and his nature we become. That’s the reason that as we grow in him, the more we will find peace in a war torn and violent world, the more grace we will find in the time of our most desperate need, the more love we will experience where there seems to be none. The proper armor prepares us, and sees us through the battles that only make us stronger to fight another day. We’ll continue on this one some more, but thanks for sharing!

    Hi Larry, good to see you too. Know you have faced battles of great magnitude and the Lord has helped you overcome. You will continue to be in our thoughts and prayers.

    God bless!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | November 29, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

