Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – January 16

THE AMERICAN DREAM 

The American dream has always been the accumulation of wealth.  The belief that increased material goods, money, financial security, makes one happier, wiser–even more “godly.”  Money is the solution to everything.  

This philosophy permeates our religion and politics.

It is a false gospel and an empty one.

Revelation 3:17 Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked: 

Traveling the world, I have found the most steadfast faith, the deepest peace, and the most committed love among the Christian poor:

2Corinthians 6:10 As sorrowful, yet alway rejoicing; as poor, yet making many rich; as having nothing, and [yet] possessing all things.

James 2:5 Hearken, my beloved brethren, Hath not God chosen the poor of this world rich in faith, and heirs of the kingdom which he hath promised to them that love him?

Time to rethink the American dream?

January 16, 2007 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

4 Comments »

  1. My son once said that he liked poor people better than rich people, because poor people will share.

    Comment by helenl | January 16, 2007 | Reply

  2. We live in a nation of immense wealth. Many of our “poor” are far wealthier than many nations’ “rich”! I guess the problem is not necessarily the people, so much as it is the doctrine that money is the solution to man’s problems.

    1Timothy 6:5 Perverse disputings of men of corrupt minds, and destitute of the truth, supposing that gain is godliness: from such withdraw thyself.

    I hear it preached from the pulpits of Hollywood to the ghetto.

    -Jack

    Comment by bereans | January 16, 2007 | Reply

  3. The problem with many people in having a lot of possessions is that they don’t have the possessions, the possessions have them. I think of the rich man in the Bible who was so consumed in storing up his goods that he negelected his soul. When his time came to meet the Lord, he was not ready.
    Luk 12:16 And he spake a parable unto them, saying, The ground of a certain rich man brought forth plentifully:
    Luk 12:17 And he thought within himself, saying, What shall I do, because I have no room where to bestow my fruits?
    Luk 12:18 And he said, This will I do: I will pull down my barns, and build greater; and there will I bestow all my fruits and my goods.
    Luk 12:19 And I will say to my soul, Soul, thou hast much goods laid up for many years; take thine ease, eat, drink, and be merry.
    Luk 12:20 But God said unto him, Thou fool, this night thy soul shall be required of thee: then whose shall those things be, which thou hast provided?
    Luk 12:21 So is he that layeth up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God.

    Maybe that’s why Jesus said what He did in Luke 18:25.

    Luk 18:25 For it is easier for a camel to go through a needle’s eye, than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God.

    Comment by writeathome | January 17, 2007 | Reply

  4. Carol, my brother-in-law and I were talking about how we almost drown ourselves in stuff–how it increasingly becomes more an more burdomesome to store it, maintain it, move it, etc. I enjoyed Pastor Chandler’s message when he said that we have become distracted with the “options” in life–so much that we never have any real contentment with what we have–which are blessings beyond what we deserve.

    This poor rich man in Luke–I actually feel sorry for him!

    -Jack

    Comment by bereans | January 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

