Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – January 19

GOD IN A BOX 

So, you think you know God, do you?  Got Him figured out, parameters in place? Does He fit well in the straight jacket you have Him in?

  • Animal sacrifice?

We may not know everything about Him, and we should do everything we can to learn about Him.  But its unfair to make Him into an image that conforms to your expectations.  Unfair to…put Him in a box.

1Corinthians 13:12 For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

January 19, 2007 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

4 Comments »

  1. I certainly don’t want to limit God with my limited understanding. The more I learn about Him the bigger He becomes, and He is constantly blowing my mind!

    Comment by writeathome | January 19, 2007 | Reply

  2. I agree with Carol. Do you remember the book “Your God Is Too Small” by J. B. Phillips?

    Comment by helenl | January 19, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hi Carol & Helen!

    Busy BUSY day. So much to do, so little time, so forgive me for taking so long to check back in!

    Early in my life I used to, “God wouldn’t do that,” “God is this, etc.” The more I read my Bible, the more He gently reminded me that I was a child of His, not vice versa. I guess sometimes I just have to remind myself that even when I don’t understand Him or what He does, I can still love, trust and have faith in Him. Thats a wonderful comfort to me.

    Helen, this book sounds very familiar (I have read a ton, and my memory is a little sketchy), but I went ahead and added it to my Amazon order!

    Our God is an awesome God!

    Have a wonderful and peaceful weekend.

    -Jack

    Comment by bereans | January 20, 2007 | Reply

  4. But what I really want to know is What would Jesus drive? LOL

    Each day I pray for God to help me to have that childlike faith. All I know is that he is there. Like when we were children and dinner was just there. We didn’t know how exactly but it was there. If I start maturing and analyzing.. Well I prefer to utilize.

    Larry

    Comment by Larry | January 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

