Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – February 19

IF WE ARE THE BODY…

In Ephesians 5:30 it says, “For we are members of his body, of his flesh, and of his bones.”

While we Christians may experience great pride in being an integral part of Jesus’ body, we may have gotten much more than we bargained for.

What happened to our Lord’s body?

  • stripped naked
  • beaten beyond recognition
  • a crown of thorns thrust into his head
  • spit upon
  • crucified

And you thought that becoming a Christian was about being comfortable, rich, and pain-free?

Romans 8:18 For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time [are] not worthy [to be compared] with the glory which shall be revealed in us.

February 19, 2007 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

3 Comments »

  1. This reminds me of an old gospel song I haven’t heard in years. Here are the lyrics.

    I’ve got a long way to go to be like the Lord.
    I’ve got a long way to go to be like the Lord.
    I’ve never been spit upon, ridiculed, wounded in my side:
    life’s no bed of roses, but still I’m alive.
    I’ve got a long way to go to be like the Lord.

    I don’t remember trudging up a rugged hill
    with a cross upon my back,
    and I don’t recall a crown of thorns being crushed upon my brow, now when I look back.
    I want to be merciful, dutiful, faithful and true,
    kind and just in all that I do,
    I’ve got a long way to go to be like the Lord.

    Comment by writeathome | February 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. So true, Carol!

    I have a friend who is undergoing some significant trial. The pastor of her church constantly tells his flock that if you are a Christian things will be easy–consequently she thinks of herself as a second rate Christian because of her suffering. Its sad and a shame that we have come to promote Christianity as a good luck charm.

    -j

    Comment by bereans | February 21, 2007 | Reply

  3. As we prepare to enter Lent, I was struck with the picture as much as the words.

    Oh, I know Lent’s a “high-church” thing. But observing it through devotion and drama is a powerful way to deepen one’s faith. We dare not starve our relgious imaginations. This picture shows a suffering Jesus.

    But He is the same Jesus Who called the little children to Him, the same One Who rode truimphantly among the palms, the same One Who raised Larzzarus from the dead and made water into wine. He is the Man Who knocked over the tables in the Temple. He is the Baby to Whom the herald angals sang, the Boy Who lagged behind on the way home from the Temple. He is the author and finisher of our faith. He has become the Savior. And it is through faith in His coming crucifixion that our sins are forgiven. We do well to think on His unspeakable gift. Jesus is the LORD.

    Comment by helenl | February 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

