Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – March 26

BEGIN AGAIN

Begin to see yourself as you were
When you were the happiest and strongest you’ve ever been.

Begin to remember what worked for you
(and what worked against you),
And try to capture the magic again.

Begin to remember how natural it was when you were a child –To live a lifetime each day.

Begin to forget the baggage you have carried with you these long years:

  • The problems that don’t matter anymore,
  • The tears that cried themselves away,
  • And the worries that are going to wash away on the shore of tomorrow’s new beginnings.

Begin again.

Author: Collin McCarty

Philippians 3:13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but [this] one thing [I do], forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

March 26, 2007 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

5 Comments »

  1. Hi Jack, I posted a poem on this very topic recently. http://helenl.wordpress.com/2007/03/12/starting-over/

    Comment by helenl | March 26, 2007 | Reply

  2. Have you ever seen this poem before?

    I wish that there were some wonderful place

    Called the Land of Beginning Again

    Where all our mistakes and all our heartaches

    And all of our selfish grief

    Could be dropped like a shabby old coat by the door

    And never be put on again.

    I wish we could come on it all unaware

    Like the hunter who finds a lost trail

    And I wish that the one whom our blindness has done

    The greatest injustice of all

    Could be at the gates like an old friend that waits

    For the comrade he’s gladdest to hail.

    We would find all the things we intended to do

    But forgot, and remembered too late;

    Little praises unspoken, little promises broken

    And all of the thousand and one

    Little duties neglected that might have perfected

    The day for one less fortunate.

    It wouldn’t be possible not to be kind

    In the Land of Beginning Again

    And the ones we misjudged and the ones whom we grudged

    Their moments of victory then

    Would find in the grasp of our loving handclasp

    More than penitent lips could explain.

    For what had been hardest we’d know had been best

    And what had seemed loss would be gain

    For there isn’t a sting that will not take a wing

    When we’ve faced it and laughed it away,

    And I think that the laughter is most what we’re after

    In the Land of Beginning Again.

    So I wish that there were some wondered place

    Called the Land of Beginning Again

    Where all our mistakes and all our heartaches

    And all of our selfish grief

    Could be dropped like a shabby old coat at the door

    And never be put on again.

    Louise Fletcher

    Comment by writeathome | March 26, 2007 | Reply

  3. This is why I like to hike into the hills regularly and sit by a tree and watch the world go by. Pretty soon I remember that no matter what I am doing or how consumed I am with the petty details of being human, that tree is sitting there peacefully watching the clouds go by until I return. Thanks for reminding me 🙂 BB —Doug

    Comment by unitedcats | March 26, 2007 | Reply

  4. Helen, I am still working that poem through my mind. When I read it the first time I was intrigued! 🙂

    Carol, I like that one–can’t quantify how many times I wished I could begin again, but knowing full well that I can!

    Doug, good to hear from you as always! My father used to tell me, “It doesn’t matter what your past is, your future is spotless.” I get a certain peace from that.

    I guess if we looked at each day as a time of renewal with fresh resolve and perspective, then we would be less mired by the darkness of our past. “Forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before!”

    God bless!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | March 26, 2007 | Reply

  5. The sad thing is we often insist others should let go of the past, while we cling to ours. We need to let go of our own pasts, before we can help others deal wioth theirs.

    Comment by helenl | March 26, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

