Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – April 9

THE CONCEIT OF MAN

Making small talk in the church lobby yesterday I mentioned to a gentleman that the economy was great, and his reply was, “For the rich–they keep getting richer and the poor keep getting poorer.”

I asked him if he knew any poor people personally. He stammered, looked a bit confused and admitted that he really didn’t.

Following the prolonged silence, he turned to the weather. “Cold today, isn’t it?”

“Yep,” I joked, “Record lows today with the first snow we’ve had this time of year in 20 years! Where’s that global warming they keep promising us?”

“Oh,” he replied, “We are having record low temperatures BECAUSE of global warming.”

I scratched my head trying to figure THAT one out while another moment of silence came between us.

Several more attempts at varying topics told me that this man seemed to already know it all. I wondered if he thought that up was down and right was left.

Later in the day, in a conversation with a family member, I caught myself doing the same thing.

Proverbs 26:12 Seest thou a man wise in his own conceit? [there is] more hope of a fool than of him.

April 9, 2007 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

6 Comments »

  1. Amen. What fools we are.

    Comment by helenl | April 9, 2007 | Reply

  2. I think all of us at times, in an attempt to make small talk and be cordial say things that probably don’t make sense.

    Comment by writeathome | April 9, 2007 | Reply

  3. The upward transfer of wealth in the USA is a matter of fact, whether or not one knows any poor people personally. Ask any economist. And yes, I know people who had six figure jobs who now stack pallets for $11 hour to feed their families. And yes, I talked to a world renowned professor of economics about the topic. And I will be blogging about global warming again tomorrow. 🙂 It’s a fact too. BB —Doug

    Comment by unitedcats | April 10, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hi All!

    Helen, your comment brought to mind the verse:

    1Corinthians 1:27 But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty;

    Helps me every time I get cocky! (Which is way too often)

    Carol, I understand what you mean. For some reason, though, here it was a beautiful (but cold) Easter morning, and this guy seemed to have awakened on the wrong side of the bed. He had something negative so say about almost everything. I thought (but didn’t) about closing off conversation with, “Well, Christ arose!” ha!

    Doug, always great to have you drop by the Berean–always learn from and appreciate your comments. I guess I could ask myself the question, having taught economics at the University-ha! I have never seen economies as that simple to characterize them with cliched or absolute phrases. For example, we have more millionaires per capita than ever before in the history of the United States–that is not an upward, but an outward distribution. Also, in keeping with the statement the gentleman made, it would seem that the people you mentioned who made six figures should be going up, not down. Of course when this happens, this is usually not a product economic health so much as it is a shift in worker demographic. For example, we had textile mill workers in our state who made very high wages, but when textile manufacture shifted to overseas, those people lost those high paying jobs and had to retool or re-educate themselves in order to make the same high wage. There are still many high wage jobs, but they have changed–requiring different skill sets, educational levels, etc.

    Of course, I am not a world renouned professor of economics, but taught it and have studied it long enough to know that there is as much ideology injected into the topic to cloud its scientific viewpoint. 🙂 Of course, it is an economic fact that as an economy improves, businesses become more profitable, and therefore the ones who own them do. But things are rolling along well–unemployment is at 4% even though we have absorbed millions of illegal workers into the system, real wages are up, and there are so many social programs for those who don’t want to work that food stamp offices are having to advertise to move their stamps!

    As far as the poor, I know many. What I found interesting, though, is that there was a report out not long ago that indicated that epidemic among the poor was obesity. In most societies other than America, poverty is measured by starvation, not obesity. Interesting nation we live in…

    Looking forward to the GW post–maybe we’ll set a comment record on that one!

    God bless!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | April 10, 2007 | Reply

  5. I guess I will have to post on poverty in America. 🙂 Once again thanks for being so diplomatic in response to my tendency to rant.
    BB –Doug

    Comment by unitedcats | April 10, 2007 | Reply

  6. I’m will look forward to that also, Doug!

    Keep in mind, that I DO believe there are problems that always need to be addressed–and many things that can be done so much better. We may find ourselves agreeing more than disagreeing!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | April 10, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

