Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – April 11

ANTS! 

King Solomon liked ants.  I bet he had a gold-plated ant farm–a place he visited daily for inspiration.  He liked ants so much, he talked about them twice in his “practical advice book.”

Two points about ants:

1.  Resilient.  Proverbs 30:24 There be four [things which are] little upon the earth, but they [are] exceeding wise: The ants [are] a people not strong, yet they prepare their meat in the summer; 

This last summer I battled fire ants.  I dumped enough poison on my lawn kill me and my neighbors.  No sooner had I destroyed a mound and its inhabitants, another, newly excavated mound would appear a few feet away. 

One can step on them, poison them, burn them, drown them,  but for some reason they keep coming back.  The result of this resilience:

Jack: 0

Fire Ants: 1

2.  Self-motivated. Proverbs 6:6-8 Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise: Which having no guide, overseer, or ruler, Provideth her meat in the summer, [and] gathereth her food in the harvest.   

Those busy fire ants worked all summer in preparation for winter.   All this time they lurked beneath the ground, eating well and preparing for the coming assault. 

No one encouraged them, no one motivated them, no one directed them, held their hand or even thanked them.

Game 2 started last month.   So far the ants lead in the first quarter.

April 11, 2007 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

7 Comments »

  1. Somehow self-motivation and risiliency go together. One who finds his/her own motivation will find it time and time again. One who must be motivated by others quits [his/her] task easily. Note the particular ant’s gender in Proverbs 6. 🙂
    Fact is you will lose this summer. too, Jack. Ants are more self-motivated to live than most people. They live in the yard. You can go into the house and watch televisison. You can give up. They won’t. “You can’t keep a good [ant] down.”

    But the point, of course, is to learn from the ant. And all those chemical are driving us to more and more global warming, right? 🙂

    🙂 🙂

    Comment by helenl | April 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. Ha!

    You’re probably right, Helen! You make some excellent points:

    1. You may have explained why I have never won an argument with a female.

    2. I wouldn’t put my money on Jack in this face off.

    3. I’m sure going to make it hotter and hotter for those ants!

    I’ll definitely keep you updated though 🙂

    -j

    Comment by bereans | April 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. Ooooh! I remember those South Carolina fire ants. You know though, it could be worse. Thankfully, we don’t live in an area that has driver ants. Those babies are fierce. Check out this article.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/nature/wildfacts/factfiles/3086.shtml

    Comment by writeathome | April 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hi Jack,

    I don’t know what happened to my comment. It seemed to disappear after I wrote it. I remember those South Carolina fire ants, but I’d rather have to deal with them than those driver ants that have in parts of Africa. Those ants are brutally fierce!

    Comment by writeathome | April 11, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hey Carol!

    I think that our fire ants are plotting and training to eventually be driver ants…

    I saw a documentary on these amazing creatures though, I wouldn’t want to stand in their path!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | April 11, 2007 | Reply

  6. You can win the war on fire ants – or at least some battles. I am a fire ant researcher for Clemson University in South Carolina visit my web site to learn more about fire ants as well how to manage them. http://entweb.clemson.edu/fireant

    Comment by Tim Davis | April 12, 2007 | Reply

  7. Hi Tim!

    I live about 1/2 an hour from Clemson! Small world. 🙂

    The scary part is, that several years ago, they actually made it into my house–through one of the wall outlets. Since then, it has been all out war.

    I will gladly visit your site, and look forward to the information there.

    God bless,

    -j

    Comment by bereans | April 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

