Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – May 13

SHOULD, NEED, WANT

Imagine you can read minds.  Imagine asking a friend over for a visit.  Imagine tuning in to your friends thoughts and hearing them say:

“I should go, I need to go, but I really don’t feel like it or want to go.”

I don’t know about you, but if I knew my friend felt that way I wouldn’t particularly WANT them to come visit–and would feel pretty hurt besides.

That’s essentially what God gets from many Christians when it comes to doing the things that grow our relationship with Him.

  • “I SHOULD read his word, I NEED to read his word, but…”
  • “I SHOULD go to church, I NEED to go to church, but…”
  • “I SHOULD pray,  I NEED to pray, but…”
  • “I SHOULD serve, I NEED to serve, but…”

At this point,  God probably feels the same way any of us would.  Why bother!

Getting serious about our relationship with God should change those things we feel like we SHOULD be doing out of obligation into things we WANT to do out of love.  

John 14:23 Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.

May 14, 2007 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

