Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Daily Devotional – May 23

I CREATED YOU!

One day, as usually was the case, a young waif, a little girl, stood at the street corner begging for food, money or wathever she could get. Now this girl was wearing very tattered clothes; she was dirty and quite disheveled.

As it happens, a well-to-do young man passed that corner without giving the girl a second look. But when he returned to his expensive home, his happy and comfortable family, and his well-laden dinner table, his thoughts returned to the young waif and he became very angry at God for allowing such conditions to exist.

He reproached God, saying, “How can you let this happens? Why don’t you do something to help this girl?”

Then he heard God in the depths of his being respond by saying, “I did. I created You!”

Author: Brian Cavanaugh, T.O.R., The Sower’s Seeds

James 2:15-17 If a brother or sister be naked, and destitute of daily food, and one of you say unto them, Depart in peace, be [ye] warmed and filled; notwithstanding ye give them not those things which are needful to the body; what [doth it] profit?  Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone.

May 23, 2007 - Posted by | Daily Devotional

6 Comments »

  1. What are you talking about, I sent a boat, and a helicopter.

    What were you waiting for?

    Larry

    Comment by Larry | May 23, 2007 | Reply

  2. Good one, Jack. Good reminder of how we should be in this world.

    Comment by helenl | May 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. Amen to what Helen said.

    Comment by writeathome | May 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hi All!

    Larry, I remember that joke–a good one. 🙂 Always reminded me about the little boy that was falling out of a tree who holllered: “Jesus, save me!” Then, “Never mind, Jesus, my pants caught on a limb.”

    Helen and Carol, the Lord gave me the undeserved privilege of serving him in various churches in my lifetime and I found that often they were comprised of three types of people. There were:

    -those who wouldn’t and didn’t care,

    -those who cared, but were too worried about what others were not doing or trying to force them to do, that they didnt have time to do,

    -and the doers.

    I have to admit to my shame that I have been just as guilty of the first two as the last.

    I always need the reminder:

    James 1:22 But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves.

    Have a blessed week!

    -j

    Comment by bereans | May 23, 2007 | Reply

  5. This brings to mind the prayer of St. Francis – Lord make me an instrument of thy peace. I am so often guilty of waiting for everyone else to step up to the plate.

    Comment by Ellen | May 24, 2007 | Reply

  6. Yep, Ellen! Join the crowd 🙂

    -j

    Comment by bereans | May 24, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

