Common Sense Christian

The Thinking Christian’s Site

Today’s Thought – October 1

 

DIRTY JOB

There is a great show on the discovery channel called “Dirty Jobs – With Mike Rowe”  The episodes have such names as:  “Worm Dung Farmer”, “Avian Vomitologist” and “Garbage Pit Technician.”  I keep waiting for the episode “Diaper Changer” because I can attest that it is one of the least appealing jobs I have ever encountered.  

My daughter was about 2 months old when she went over two days without a messy diaper.  Up until that time, I had changed many.  After about a day and a half we grew very concerned and made an appointment at the pediatrician.  The pediatrician administered treatment and it wasn’t long before I was presented once again with that wondrous “gift” of a dirty diaper.  I have never been so happy to see one/change one in my life!

When a child is birthed into the family of God, they are a spiritual baby.  They will do things that spiritual babies do–things that are natural for them to do.   The mature Christian’s honest expectation is that the baby Christian SHOULD have inconveniently messy diapers (sin) because it is their nature.  Growing out of diapers is a gradual change that comes about with maturity, and just like I was with my daughter, it should even be cause for consternation to see an abrupt and unnatural change in baby behavior.  How contrary this thought is from prevailing philosophies within the church of God today who birth babies then expect immediate change!

1Corinthians 13:11 When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

October 1, 2007 - Posted by | Spiritual Growth

4 Comments »

  1. Great illustration. I theological terms we call it progressive sanctification. We progress as we grow in the image of him.

    Daniel http://www.apostolicmessenger.wordpress.com

    Comment by Daniel | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hi Daniel!

    Sincere thanks for stopping by CSC!

    The spiritual growth process is as natural as the physical and developmental ones’, but for some reason we try to introduce artificial elements in order to control outcomes that are not our jurisdiction! The ever present fire of the Holy Spirit will do his work if he is not quenched. (I Thess 5:19)

    God bless

    Paul

    Comment by bereans | October 4, 2007 | Reply

  3. Do you defecate?

    But in a great house there are not only vessels of gold and of silver, but also of wood and of earth; and some to honour, and some to dishonour.

    Comment by Voice of Reason | October 4, 2007 | Reply

  4. Speaking of the Holy Spirit I attended an Awanna class with my daughter (whom I have been teaching spanish) and she wanted me to teach her class some spanish, and a small boy told me he also spoke another language and comenced to say “Parlez-vous français ?” I responded “Oui” The boy looked at me with a puzzled expression so I explained to him that he had just asked me if I spoke French and I said yes. Wonder why he was puzzled?

    Comment by Voice of Reason | October 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

